Hillary Challenge Final

By far the toughest adventure race in New Zealand for Year 11 – 13 school students! Held at our Tongariro Centre each year, 12 teams take on 5 days of gruelling multi-sport activities…but only 1 team can win – welcome to the Hillary Challenge Final!

Catch all the action from the 2020 Final here!

Not only does this event require a high level of physical and mental fitness, being a team sport, members need the ability to work together under stress.

Teams of 8 students are scored on their skill, speed and endurance during a 5-day series of outdoor adventure challenges, including a 2-day rogaine style wilderness expedition and a multi sport race on the final day. In true adventure racing tradition, the exact details of all challenges are kept secret until the event.

To qualify for the final teams must earn one of the qualifying spots in the North and South Island Hillary Challenge 6-hour adventure race events at the beginning of Term 2.

The 22nd Hillary Challenge Final to find the top Secondary School Outdoor Adventure Team in New Zealand will take place during the week of 10 October – 14 October 2022.

Congratulations to the Schools that have qualified for the 2022 final: 

  • New Plymouth Girls and Boys High (Taranaki) 1st place in the 2021 Final
  • Motueka High (Motueka) 2nd place in the 2021 Final
  • Shirley Boys/Avonside Girls (Christchurch)
  • Mt Aspiring College (Wanaka)
  • Cashmere High (Christchurch) 
  • St Andrews College (Christchurch) 
  • Golden Bay High School (Golden Bay) 
  • John Paul College (Rotorua)
  • Trident High (Whakatane)
  • Francis Douglas/Sacred Heart (New Plymouth)
  • Whangarei Girls/Boys (Whangarei)
  • Taupo-nui-a-Tia (Taupo)